Sunday, September 6, 2009

CRIMINAL ACTIVITY

We had to finish watching that stupid OU/BYU game before we could do anything else. We even postponed dinner because we didn't want to miss anything. I wish we would have missed more.

After the game we headed out to our neighborhood IHOP. Nothing beats eating your dinner with a house full of drunk and rowdy twenty-somethings now, does it?



While we're walking out the door BJ asks if I'd like to do a "drive-by" of our newest property that we call "The Office". He refers to them as a drive-by so I know he's not expecting me to go inside one of his works-in-progress. No one wants to really see one of his WIP.



Since the house is on a corner lot I take the road that will put me in front of the house and then I can turn to drive down the side of the property. When it gets into sight I say, "BJ, the front door is open." as I keep driving because I've already passed the driveway and the two driveways it does have go over a large ditch area so you have to use the driveways. He told me to turn around at the corner but as I approach the corner I see a big red pick-up parked parallel to our detached garage.

I pulled into the second driveway and was t-boned with my bright lights on shining right into the cab of the pickup. The dark tint would not allow me to see anything inside. We sat there shining our lights on that truck for over twenty seconds....then backed up thinking the driver was actually inside our house with the open door.

We drove back to the front door and BJ got out to shut the door. I dialed 911 on my cell phone and had the call button ready. He hollered inside and stepped in a few feet but didn't hear anything so he secured the door and headed back to the car. That's when I saw him. My car was in the driveway but the house was off to my right. My lights we still on bright and they were shining down to the end of the property (about 200-250 feet). "BJ, there's a man down there!" I screamed. The man just froze like a deer in the headlights look. BJ yelled at him that he was the owner and asked if he could help him. The man just stood there, froze. He looked like he was hiding something at his side. That was unnerving! As BJ started towards him, I was close behind with my lights on bright, blinding the man. BJ said, "Get my cell phone, I'm calling the cops." I said, "NO! GET IN! I've already dialed them." Then the man was gone. I hollered at BJ to hurry into the car. I was going after them. The police officer said he could come and take a report but I said, "Well call you back when we get their tag."

BJ finally got into the car as they pulled out of the driveway (on the east side of the garage) while I'm still on the west side of the garage. I tried to go between the house and the garage but, PROBLEM! BJ had just dug, that afternoon, a trench from the house to the garage apartment. Not only was there a ditch to go over but also all sorts of cinder blocks and broken concrete. As I scraped across the first section I threw it in reverse and headed around the north of the garage and back out the driveway. We saw where they turned and we went the opposite direction to catch up to them. When I pulled out on the the main street (four lane road) here they come. I was going the wrong direction to get a tag number. A minivan was coming up the road and they turned out in front of it so after the van went by I made a U Turn from the right lane to the right lane. It was so Starsky and Hutch. Adrenalin rushing! They got into the left turn lane and the light was red. I could get right behind them. No! The minivan got there. I pulled up in the center lane to get beside them but the light turned green and they turned. So I jumped in behind the minivan and turned. I don't think they ever saw my smooth move with the Uie. They turned left again to drive right by our property again. What nerve! We were getting more angry by the minute. Since they didn't know I was behind them we didn't want to spook them so they turned right and I went straight to the next block and turned right. Then I called the police again. I told them that they kept driving by our property and we weren't sure what for.



(We also told him that after we first purchased the property that some punk kids hid a stolen car in our garage and used it to dismantle the car without being seen. Something must have spooked them though because we found the car and the job wasn't nearly complete. The car still had 24K wheels, a souped up motor and a few speakers left. We had that towed by the city.) SORRY!

Anyway. We had a police officer there within three to five minutes and then no more drive-bys. Those punks. The police officer said that we didn't need to hang out at the house unless we wanted to but he said he would. So we told him we were leaving. We did leave our property but we cruised the neighborhood for another 45 minutes. I was bound and determined to find that pickup. They will not get away from the Wrath of Karalee. Watch Out!!!

Crap like this makes you look at everyone and every red pickup you see. I hate that feeling but even more, I hate people getting away with stuff. I am a rule follower (minus my driving in extreme circumstances). I expect others to follow the rules too.



This morning on my way to the market I did one more neighborhood drive by. I found a pickup that looked like it could be the one. I got the tag number and asked BJ to drive by after I got to the market. I wanted him to check it out because he knows what the front tag looked like. I wasn't about to walk into their driveway on my own.



I told BJ last night that we should really check into getting our license to Carry a Concealed Weapon. That was the most awful feeling of staring down the face of a man that you don't know what weapon he has or if he's on drugs that would make him unstoppable.

This proves that there are no dull moments when you hang out with me.

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Never Swim Alone - Seriously!

Okay. My story comes in the form of humor but the serious underlying issue is truth. Never swim alone.

I am not one that seeks wild abandon or even wild adventure, anymore. I'm just fine being me, at my age now, and that's all.

After swimming all afternoon at my precious friend's, the Conrad's, pool I took a little break to see the nephews and then headed out to Piedmont to spend a nice relaxing evening with my best bud, Heather. We hung out for an hour or so and then decided to swim in her pool.

She got right in. I hesitated. Then I went for it. The water was so warm. Surprising, I know, since it's only been in the three digits all week. Since my middle name is "Grace-ful" and I try to avoid anyone finding out about that, I do all I can to avoid the curse. This event should rank no less.


I go in using the ladder... and immediately slip my leg inbetween the ladder and the side of the pool while falling backwards and down into the water. Usually I'd pop right back up to the surface (we are in three feet of water at this point) but I'm a little concerned about being trapped in the ladder. The entire episode lasted less than a minute but in my quick, genius mind it lasted much longer as I am under water unable to find the surface. Heather bravely reaches into the depths of the three feet of water to rescue me by pulling my arms out of the water. As I come up fighting with the ladder for my leg, I win! I break through the plastic step and pull my leg to safety... NOT!!! I pull my leg through the broken plastic step and gash it open right into the pool. It doesn't bleed... immediately. We think we're in the clear until I pop it up onto my floatation device (raft). OH MY! I did not want to see that and I'm pretty sure Heather didn't want to see that in her pool. When we hit the wide open air, the blood found it's way to the surface. We jumped out of the pool and the rest is left to a scar on my left leg from the knee to the calf in a crested moon slit. Lovely.




I was very impressed with Heather's immediate action in saving my life and doctoring my wound. We did go have it checked out by medical professionals after we calmed down a bit. She did everything correctly and no stitches needed... which I questioned after the ER Tech pulled the now dried wound open to see the depth of it. OUCH! Great! Now it's bleeding again. Heather did her doctoring all over again and even trimmed the hanging skin. Then we shared some popcorn and watched Bride Wars. What a great ending to such an exciting 60 minutes.

Thursday, June 11, 2009

I'm Smarter Than This

Tuesday was a wonderful day. BJ and I got up around 7 and watched an hour of the Today Show. Then we decided to take the jeep out and get some breakfast together. We hardly ever get to do that since I work so early during school and when I'm off I love to sleep.

We had a very nice breakfast at Jimmy's Egg and then went back home so he could trade for his pickup and get to work. I started working on a craft for my husbands Grandparents 65th Anniversary celebration later this month. I'm in a time crunch. Another story.

I had plans to meet with Stefunk at her pool later in the morning and was so looking forward to it. When I was growing up I spent every weekday at the community pool. My parents got by with a $32.00 a summer and had me out of the house for at least 25 - 35 hours a week. Monday through Friday I spent a C. H. Ripper Park swimming for fifty cents a day. They were open from one to eight daily and I would go by myself. I was a sun-princess. When I got all grown up and had to actually work for a living all my summer fun times came to an abrupt stop. I was in a culture shock. I needed my summer time.

Okay, so now I'm headed to Stefunk's house and I've got my sunscreen on my face, ears, neck, back, shoulders, arms... I'm good to go.

We had a great time. I laid on that raft from eleven to four, minus the minutes I played with Reagan and we had swimming races and she showed me her favorite tricks. I had a blast. I saw friends I hadn't seen in what seems like years. I saw children of friends that I can't remember them being past toddlers. BLAH!!! Where have I been? Oh yeah. Working!

I had to pack up and leave at four to make sure I had time to get some domestic chores complete before BJ returned from working all day. I promised I'd see them next week right there poolside and then left.

I don't think I made it 15 minutes before my legs started shooting pains of fire through them. What? What is this horrible feeling? I raced home and hit the shower. Cool water never felt so good coming out of my shower before. It soothed my pain, initially. The more time went by the more I hurt.

By eight that evening I was unable to walk. It felt as if my veins had been sunburned and the blood traveling through them was my worst enemy. It didn't bring me to tears but it did cause me to take 800mg of Ibuprofen, lather up with lotion and go straight to bed. If I was going to be in pain, I wanted to be sleeping right through it.

Two hours later I was awakened with the pain. No more sleeping. It was horrific.

Wednesday was spent in the recliner. I was unable to get myself water which turned out to be alright seeing that I would only have to get myself to the bathroom. There I sat. Hurting.

Thursday has proven to be better. I did sleep quite a bit better. Well, sleeping at all made the difference from the night before. I have missed out on a few events because I've been confined to my house. I was looking forward to breakfast at my favorite place in the world this morning, Panera Bread. I was supposed to meet my mother and Saundra. That didn't happen.

Here I am, still in a little pain and typing on this blog about my stupidity. I hate being wrong and I hate showing stupidity. Not putting sunscreen ALL OVER my body was the stupidest thing I've done in a long long long time. It has caused me great suffering. Suffering that could have been easily avoided.

Thank you for enduring my blog with me.

Saturday, February 14, 2009

February Tornados and School

Tuesday afternoon we start headed to our buses to pretrip. I'm in the first group to leave at 2:00pm so we can get all of the buses out of the lot and up to Hefner Middle School before they let those students loose at 2:30.

It was beautiful outside. The weather wasn't too chilly and it was dry. We'd only been out of the lot for two minutes when the director comes over the two-way radio stating, "There is a Tornado Watch but we'll keep you informed so you just need to keep the airways clear and don't call in for weather updates."

I was a little surprised. I had no idea there were weather concerns. I hadn't watched television or heard the radio since 8:30 that morning.

We kept driving another 4-5 miles North and all filed into the parking lot. We only got about one-third of the buses in line when the tornado sirens started blowing. "Okay, that's it. I'm ready to go home," states one tired, black, female driver named Lynda.

The director comes over the airways again, "I need for the buses at the schools to turn off their bus, take their keys and go into the school at this time."

What?

Then it started to sprinkle. I got off the bus and laughed sarcastically. This is ridiculous I thought to myself. Then I waved to Lynda to get off her bus and come inside with me. She told me to go on she was staying on her bus. She wasn't, she just likes to throw a fit. I laughed.

A few of us got the attention of a school official, probably a teacher but I wasn't positive of who he was, and asked him to let us inside. We told him that we were directed to enter the school and that more buses were on their way.

Five of us went a few yards into the school and planted on some seats in the cafeteria. It wasn't a few minutes until another teacher, a blonde, thin woman, comes running down the hall yelling out orders. I looked at Lynda and she said, "She's the first one I'm putting outside when this thing hits." I laughed, only because I know she's full of it and I seriously think she's pretty funny.

Another teacher came down the hall and we all rolled our eyes because we knew what was next. Yep! "Ya'll need to come down here, away from that door. Can I get ya'll to step into the restrooms?" Oh, great. I needed to go to the bathroom and then I could have a seat during this whole ordeal. Woo hoo! Uh, nope! She filed all of us into the Ladies Restroom. I asked if the men could go into the Men's Restroom but was told, "No, it's too dirty. The women's restroom is so much nicer." BLAH! I slowed down and let about 12 other's go in front of me so that I could linger out in the hall with a few others. It worked. Lynda and I decided to go right across from the restroom and sit on the steps of this large stairway. We sat there for about ten minutes before the teachers with the walkie talkies came and made us go into the restroom with the others. They informed us that a tornado had just touched down and blew off the roof at Chuck E Cheese and that we "needed to get down on the floor in the tornado position." Do you remember that position from school. It's where you get on your knees facing the wall and put your head between your knees with your fingers locked behind your neck and your elbows pulled down to your knees. Sounds comfortable, huh? Uh, that's a big no!

Lynda and I looked at each other then looked down the hall. As the teachers walked on to direct others, we walked back to the stairs and had our seat.

First of all, I wasn't doing that position for any reason. I can see the headlines now. Tornado injures one from school. She wouldn't perform the "tornado position" on the women's bathroom floor. I'm sorry but what exactly were my odds. In my mind, my odds were 1% of the tornado hitting the school and 99% that it would take my back a week to recover from even getting on the floor in that bathroom. Needless to say, it didn't happen. Either one.

I won't bother you with the rest of my longest day ever. But you know your days only going to get better after you get out of the Ladies Restroom with over 12 of your co-workers. Some you like, some you don't and some you just try to tolerate.

Thank you, Jesus, for keeping us safe in the midst of the storm.

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Family Girls Night Out

Each month we plan a Family Girls Night Out. Februay 6, 2009 was the date picked for this month. We try to plan different events for each one and keep things exciting. Tonight was very exciting.

We met at Applebee's on Northwest Expressway at 6:30. We had a long table with room for eight. There were seven of us. We agreed that next time we'd try for a round table. There was a lot of conversation but a lot of conversation was missed out on by all of us. Only half the table got in on Jeanne's joke. We laughed so hard and so loud that everyone wanted to know about that joke. We decided that she'd tell it again, but not in the restaurant.

Velicia and Gina cooked up the plan to tell the waitress it was my birthday (my birthday is actually February 8th so she wasn't lying, but that wasn't the reason for the night out). She came out singing (solo - I might add) and carrying a Hot Fudge Sundae. It looked awesome. I didn't take one bite, thank you very much. Joy Dee (my grandma), Sandy (my mom) and Jeanne (my aunt) didn't have a bite either. But Velicia (my cousin), Barbara (Velicia's mom) and Gina (another cousin) didn't have one bit of trouble eating my Birthday Dessert. Silly Girls. Velicia knew I wouldn't eat that, so I think she cooked up that plan with the intention of having it herself. Plan Succeeded.

We left Applebee's and headed to the bowling alley. I was excited about going bowling. Actually, I suggested it. I've been wanting to go bowling for a long time. My best friend, Heather was meeting us there. She's a big part of our family and we were all glad to have her there... at least at first.

Everyone bowled except Grandma. She's not too good at just walking, let alone carrying a heavy bowling ball to boot... and she's seeing a chiropractor that suggested she just watch. We all agreed.

We split up in team and started bowling. Heather started off strong and never let up. We made her change teams for the second game. She kicked their butt too. That's why I said she was welcomed, at first. After bowling, everyone kept asking, "Who invited her?" We were playing. We all love Heather. Besides, our competitive side is just that, it's not followed up with the athletic ability.

I found out new things about myself while bowling. As I explained my unusual bowling method to everyone, my mother had started her turn. As I turn around to watch, I see myself bowling. She had the same technique - if that's what you call it - that I've had since I first bowled as a child. OH MY!!! I am my mother. That was about the scariest thought at the moment. Then it left and I'm not bringing it up again anytime soon.

After two games and sore shoulders and knees, we all parted ways. We all left with happy hearts and stories to share. Speaking of sharing, Jeanne did share the joke with the rest of them at the bowling alley. It was a shock at first, but followed by a burst of laughter by all.

I'm sad that I didn't take my camera. I could have really played the blackmail card.

Thanks girls. I can't wait for the next FGNO and to see what is in store.